Dinner, Eat, Entree, Food
Leave a Comment

Tofu Taco Salad

Tofu Taco Salad

Last weekend, I had a birthday party on my agenda. Not for anyone my age, but a little princess that turned one! Aside from the sweet treats all over the place (that I literally indulged in after… why are cake pops the best things ever?!), there was taco salad to munch on. It’s been a while since I’ve had it and I totally forgot how much I’ve missed it.

Since I vow for one meatless meal a week, I thought this would be the perfect dish to mix it up a bit. You know, sub a little tofu for ground beef? And it’s a plus whenย my boyfriend totally digs it too!

Tofu Taco Salad

Taco salad always brings back memories of my childhood. From elementary school lunches to girls night with my cousin. Really though, she’s the one who introduced me to Catalina dressing! I’d be like, Catalina who?

After tonight, sorry Kraft, I will no longer need your dressing service. A little wine for everyone — in my salad and in my glass, thank you very much.

Here is what you’ll need:

1 block extra firm tofu, diced
1/2 packet taco seasoning
1 red bell pepper, sliced
1/2 onion, sliced
1 can kidney beans, rinsed & drained
1/2 large iceberg lettuce, chopped
Tortilla chips, crushed
Avocado
Parmesan cheese
Salsa

Catalina Dressing:

1/2 cup ketchup
2 Tbsp sugar
1/4 cup red wine
1/2 Tbsp paprika
1/2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1/2 onion, sliced
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper

Heat oil in a large skillet on medium-high heat. Add tofu and taco seasoning — sautรฉ for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Let it sit on the heat for 3 more minutes. Remove from the skillet and set aside. Add peppers and onion to the pan and sautรฉ for 5 minutes. Set aside.

In a blender, add ketchup, sugar, red wine, paprika, Worcestershire sauce, onion, olive oil, salt and pepper. Blend for about 60 seconds or until all contents are smooth and combined.

Now, to assemble! In a large bowl… lettuce, peppers, onions, beans, tofu, tortilla chips, avocado, salsa, Catalina dressing, and cheese. SO. MUCH. GOODNESS.

Tofu Taco Salad

Seriously, now just toss it all together. Eat. And repeat.

This entry was posted in: Dinner, Eat, Entree, Food
Tagged with: , , , ,

by

A young soul in search of the beautiful things in life. Lives for superb food, lasting style & all that she loves. ๐Ÿด๐Ÿ’„๐Ÿ’•

Leave a Reply

